Vendredi 28 octobre
20H00 (HEURE DE L'EST)

$35.00 USD

Voir les détails de l'événement

Arooj Aftab

Nouvelle voix extraordinaire, le chanteur et compositeur Arooj Aftab, né au Pakistan et basé à Brooklyn, actualise et réimagine la musique sud-asiatique avec une grâce étonnante. Les floraisons de harpes indiquent une affinité avec Joanna Newsom, mais la voix d'Aftab est très différente, plus proche de Sade ou d'une sorte d'analogue soufi d'Elizabeth Fraser des Cocteau Twins.

Arooj mélange le jazz, le classique hindoustani, le folk, l'électronique et d'autres influences dans des poèmes-chansons nuageux, souvent inspirés des ghazals (forme poétique arabe) de son pays natal, mais interprétés selon ses propres termes. Le cadre minimaliste de ses compositions écarte tout ce qui n'est pas essentiel et invite l'auditeur dans un espace d'écoute intime rempli de prières, de lamentations et d'interrogations sérieuses. On la compare souvent à la transcendante Abida Parveen, la "reine de la musique soufie" pakistanaise.

Après s'être produite pour la première fois dans le Massachusetts occidental au festival Barbès in the Woods l'année dernière, Arooj revient cette fois avec un GRAMMY® en poche pour sa chanson "Mohabbat" - la première artiste pakistanaise à recevoir ce prix prestigieux. Depuis l'année dernière, elle s'est également produite dans les festivals les plus appréciés de la planète : Glastonbury, Coachella, Big Ears, Primavera Sound, et Le Guess Who ? Son merveilleux troisième album Prince VautourAftab a été acclamé par la critique et a fait l'objet d'une couverture sans précédent, notamment par Pitchfork Best New Music, TIME Best Songs of 2021 so far, The Guardian Best Albums of 2021 so far, New York Times, BBC Radio 4 Women's Hour, Uncut, Mojo et bien d'autres. Ce printemps, Aftab a été présenté sur un panneau d'affichage à Times Square comme l'artiste du mois de Spotify pour leur initiative "EQUAL Pakistan".

Ce concert est présenté en collaboration avec DSP Shows.

Effacer
crosschevron-down
fr_FRFR
0
    0
    Votre panier
    Votre panier est videRetour à la boutique
    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Friday, October 28
8:00 PM ET

$35.00 USD$45.00 USD

View Event Details

Arooj Aftab

An extraordinary new voice, Pakistani-born, Brooklyn-based singer/composer Arooj Aftab updates and reimagines South Asian music with stunning grace. Harp flourishes signal an affinity with Joanna Newsom, but Aftab’s voice is very different, closer to Sade or a kind of Sufi analogue to the Cocteau Twins’ Elizabeth Fraser.

Arooj blends jazz, Hindustani classical, folk, electronica and other influences into cloudlike poem-songs, often inspired by the ghazals (Arabic poetic form) of her homeland but delivered on her own terms. The minimalist frame in her compositions discards anything that’s unessential and invites the listener into an intimate listening space filled with earnest prayers, laments, and queries. She is often compared with the transcendent Abida Parveen, the Pakistani “Queen of Sufi Music.”

After appearing for her first time in Western Mass at the Barbès in the Woods festival last year, Arooj returns this time with a GRAMMY® in the bag for her song “Mohabbat” – the first Pakistani artist ever to receive the esteemed award. Since last year, she has also appeared in the most highly praised festivals on the planet: Glastonbury, Coachella, Big Ears, Primavera Sound, and Le Guess Who? Her wonderful third album Vulture Prince, released last year, has received unprecedented critical acclaim and coverage including Pitchfork Best New Music, TIME Best Songs of 2021 so far, The Guardian Best Albums of 2021 so far, New York Times, BBC Radio 4 Women’s Hour, Uncut, Mojo and more. This Spring Aftab was featured on a billboard in Times Square as Spotify’s artist of the month for their “EQUAL Pakistan” initiative.

This concert is presented in collaboration with DSP Shows.

Clear
crosschevron-down
en_USEN
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram