ÉVÉNEMENTS À VENIR

Sweet Honey In The Rock

Célébration de la journée MLK : reconquérir la communauté bien-aimée

Rejoignez l'ensemble a cappella afro-américain Sweet Honey in the Rock®, basé à Washington, D.C., alors qu'il marquera cette année la Journée Martin Luther King Jr. par une célébration de l'espoir, de la résilience et des nouveaux départs. L'ensemble montera une fois de plus sur la scène de l'historique Lincoln Theatre, où il se tournera vers un public de milliers de personnes du monde entier qui se sont jointes via Zoom pour pouvoir être vues par les artistes. Le concert mettra en vedette une série d'invités spéciaux, dont Kiki Shepard, Keith David, Mumu Fresh, Azar Lawrence et Wycliffe Gordon, qui reflètent la vie du révérend King et offrent des paroles d'inspiration pour l'avenir.

Depuis 1973, Sweet Honey a donné du pouvoir et de l'inspiration à des chansons sur toute une série de questions sociales, mêlant des thèmes puissants à un art magnifique pour émouvoir l'esprit et l'âme. Tout au long de son excellente carrière, l'ensemble a élevé la voix pour défendre les droits civils, la justice sociale, l'égalité et la liberté pour tous.

Le groupe, nominé trois fois aux Grammy® Awards et de renommée internationale, est actuellement composé des membres suivants Carol Maillard, Louise Robinson, Cas de la Bolade de Nitanju, Aisha Kahlil, Rochelle Rice, Christie Dashiellet les caractéristiques Romeir Mendez sur la basse acoustique et la basse électrique. L'interprète de la langue des signes américaine (ASL), Barbara Hunt, participera à cette représentation.

Cet événement est rendu possible par la Commission des arts et des lettres de la DC (CAH). La CAH est une agence indépendante du gouvernement du District de Columbia qui évalue et initie des actions sur les questions relatives aux arts et aux sciences humaines et encourage les programmes et le développement de programmes qui favorisent le progrès dans les arts et les sciences humaines. Le CAH est l'agence artistique d'État désignée pour le District de Columbia et est soutenu principalement par les fonds du gouvernement du District et en partie par le National Endowment for the Arts.

 

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

Festival de Flamenco

Une aventure dans la musique et la danse traditionnelles de Grenade

Débouchez une bouteille de sherry, dépoussiérez votre sens de l'aventure et rejoignez-nous pour un festival de musique et de danse au pied des montagnes de la Sierra Nevada en Espagne. L'après-midi commence par Variación a TempoLa nouvelle œuvre primée de Sara Jimenez et Pablo Gimenez est diffusée en direct du Teatro Mira Amescua de Guadix. Cette pièce chorégraphiée de manière exquise retrace l'évolution de la musique et de la danse espagnoles, en reliant l'influence des traditions classiques au genre plus moderne qu'est le flamenco. 

Nous nous retirons ensuite dans les oliveraies d'Almazara de Paulenca pour un spectacle intime diffusé en direct d'un moulin à huile familial et rustique. Sur un fond de bois taillé à la main et de tuiles en terre cuite, le guitariste Pablo Giménez dirige un ensemble basé à Grenade qui comprend les danseurs Rocío Montoya, de Riverdance, et Jasiel Nahim. Ils nous rappellent que rien, pas même une pandémie, ne peut tempérer la passion du Flamenco authentique.

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

Claudia Acuña

FESTIVAL INTERNATIONAL DE L'ASCENSION DES FEMMES

Claudia Acuña, nominée aux Latin Grammy Awards, présente une célébration musicale en deux parties pour marquer la Journée internationale de la femme. Diffusée en direct du théâtre de l'Académie de musique de Northampton, la production comprend un tournage à six caméras pour capturer l'intimité de sa prestation et la majesté de cet opéra historique. Les membres du public sont invités à se joindre à la production via Zoom afin de pouvoir "être vus" par les artistes sur un mur vidéo dans la fosse d'orchestre.

Ayant grandi au Chili, Claudia rêvait de se produire dans les clubs de jazz emblématiques de la ville de New York. Elle est tombée amoureuse de cette musique peu familière en écoutant les stations internationales sur sa radio transistor. À 20 ans, elle a vendu tous ses biens et a immigré aux États-Unis, sans anglais et avec peu d'ambitions. En peu de temps, elle a commencé à se produire dans des jam-sessions et a été reconnue comme l'une des chanteuses les plus intrigantes et les plus originales de la scène. "Elle chante dans la tradition des grands", remarque Abbey Lincoln, "Son son est le sien".

Claudia sera accompagnée de Pablo Vergara au piano, Carlos Henderson à la basse, Juancho Herrera à la guitare et Rodrigo Recabarren à la batterie.

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

Grand Opera Divas

Filles de l'Opéra espagnol

Passez la journée avec deux des chanteuses les plus vénérées d'Espagne, toutes deux divas à part entière et filles de quelques-unes des plus grandes stars de l'histoire du grand opéra. La journée commence par un gala d'opéra avec Montserrat Martí Caballé, fille de la soprano Montserrat Caballé et du ténor Bernabé Martí, qui nous fait voyager dans le monde de l'opéra et de la zarzuela espagnole avec une sélection de solos et de duos parmi les plus fascinants du genre classique.

La soirée tourne autour de Bacchus in Love avec un mélange enivrant de bons vins et de musique ; des duos et des chansons qui nous parlent de passion et de joie, d'amitié et de glamour, d'exaltation et d'inspiration. La soprano Cecilia Lavilla Berganza, fille de la diva du grand opéra Teresa Berganza, le baryton Luis Santana et le pianiste Victor Carbajo exaltent ensemble la bonté des "jus miraculeux" en interprétant un vaste répertoire de différents compositeurs et en célébrant cette association passionnante et passionnée.

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS
ANNULÉ

Magos Herrera

FESTIVAL INTERNATIONAL DE L'ASCENSION DES FEMMES

MISE À JOUR : Les spectacles de Magos Herrera du 2 avril ont été déplacés à l'adresse suivante Samedi 17 avril. Nous avons effectué ce changement pour permettre à Magos de se produire dans le cadre du Forum des Nations unies sur l'égalité des générations, un événement marquant qui fixe les priorités en matière de droits des femmes dans le monde.

Née à Mexico et actuellement basée à New York, Magos est surtout connue pour son improvisation vocale éloquente et son style singulier et audacieux, qui embrasse des éléments de jazz contemporain avec des mélodies et des rythmes ibéro-américains en chantant en espagnol, en anglais et en portugais. Considérée comme l'une des chanteuses les plus actives de la scène jazz latino-américaine, elle est également porte-parole des Nations unies pour UN Women UNITE, un programme promouvant l'élimination de la violence à l'égard des femmes, et pour les campagnes "He For She" des Nations unies visant à promouvoir l'égalité des sexes. Un ensemble d'étoiles se joindra à Magos, avec Luis Perdomo au piano, Sam Minaie à la basse et Alex Kautz à la batterie.

Rejoignez-nous pour célébrer les contributions vitales des femmes dans les arts dans le cadre de la série International Women Rising 2021. Soyez les premiers à entendre les moments forts du Forum sur l'égalité des générations à Mexico, où Magos s'est produit au nom d'ONU Femmes et des gouvernements mexicain et français. Diffusé en direct du théâtre historique de l'Academy of Music, cet événement tisse une tapisserie de performances musicales et de conversations avec des artistes éminents et des leaders de l'égalité des sexes.

 

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

L'expérience des nouveaux immigrants

Ensemble d'interconnexions Felipe Salles

Blues to Green (Springfield, MA) et Next Stage Arts (Putney, VT) sont fiers de présenter The New Immigrant Experience, le remarquable huitième opus du célèbre compositeur Felipe Salles, une œuvre multimédia puissante inspirée par la vie des "Dreamers", les quelque sept cent mille personnes actuellement protégées par le DACA. La représentation sera précédée d'un débat d'experts qui nous permettra de nous familiariser avec le contexte sociopolitique de l'œuvre.

Écrite par Salles - qui a émigré du Brésil aux États-Unis en 1995 - et développée grâce à une bourse de la John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, l'œuvre utilise des cadences de parole et des motifs mélodiques basés sur des mots clés comme principale source de matériel musical. Les histoires fascinantes et personnelles qu'elle raconte ont été recueillies par le biais d'entretiens menés par Salles avec un groupe de neuf rêveurs durant l'été 2018. 

C'est un voyage musical émotionnel à travers de belles textures orchestrales, des motifs soigneusement élaborés et des traits solos intenses, qui combinent la puissance d'un enregistrement big band et le paysage dramatique d'une bande sonore.

This program is funded in part by the New England States Touring program of the New England Foundation for the Arts, made possible with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts Regional Touring Program and the six New England state arts agencies. Additional support for this performance provided by the Mass Cultural Council.

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

Il n'est pas trop tard

Un oratorio sur le thème du changement climatique

Il n'est pas trop tard est une expérience interactive et multimédia qui offre un mélange puissant de science, d'activisme et d'art - un microcosme de la coalition qui converge pour changer de cap à ce moment dramatique de l'histoire planétaire. Cet événement comprend une projection du film de Geoffrey Hudson, intitulé Une passion pour la planèteLa conférence a été précédée d'une table ronde avec des leaders de l'activisme climatique, dont la révérende Margaret Bullitt-Jonas et Michael E. Mann.

Une passion pour la planète

L'œuvre chorale-orchestrale de Geoffrey Hudson, Une passion pour la planèteest un oratorio d'une heure sur le thème de la crise planétaire. Mêlant prose scientifique, poésie et textes sacrés de nombreuses confessions, le livret retrace un arc allant de la beauté et de la gratitude à l'obscurité, puis à l'espoir.

Une passion pour la planète est écrit pour un chœur de voix mixtes, un chœur d'enfants, des solistes sopranos et barytons, et un ensemble instrumental. Il y a onze mouvements ; dans le finale, les interprètes et le public se réunissent pour chanter un simple air de choral.

Suivez notre campagne de hashtag sur Instagram et Twitter #WhatGivesMeHope pour participer à la conversation.

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS

Journée de la Terre de MISTER G

UN CONCERT GRATUIT POUR LES ENFANTS ET LES FAMILLES

MISTER G - l'artiste, auteur, activiste et éducateur lauréat du Latin GRAMMY Award - présente un concert bilingue passionnant pour la Journée de la Terre, destiné aux enfants et aux familles et mettant l'accent sur l'éco-alphabétisation. Diffusé en direct de l'Academy of Music Theatre, le spectacle sera rempli de musique, de culture, d'invités spéciaux du monde entier et, bien sûr, d'un bon moment à taper des pieds et des mains.

Salué comme "une rock star bilingue" par le Washington Post, Ben Gundersheimer a d'abord été surnommé MISTER G par ses jeunes élèves alors qu'il préparait une maîtrise en éducation. Ses spectacles dynamiques et interactifs visent à abolir les frontières et à favoriser les liens interculturels. Son album le plus récent, Enfants du mondeLe festival, qui se déroule sur cinq continents, réunit des musiciens de quatorze pays (dont l'Argentine, le Chili, le Brésil, la Roumanie, l'Iran, le Liberia, le Sénégal, le Vietnam, le Guatemala, le Bangladesh, le Mexique, la France, la Jamaïque et les États-Unis).

EN SAVOIR PLUS ET TROUVER DES BILLETS
crosschevron-down
fr_FRFR
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

UPCOMING EVENTS

Sweet Honey In The Rock

MLK Day Celebration Reclaiming the Beloved Community

Join Washington, D.C.-based, African-American a cappella ensemble, Sweet Honey in the Rock®, as they mark this year’s Martin Luther King Jr. Day with a celebration of hope, resilience, and new beginnings. The ensemble will once again take the stage at the historic Lincoln Theatre, where they will look out to an audience of thousands from around the world who have joined via Zoom so that they can be seen by the artists. The concert will feature an exciting lineup of special guests including Kiki Shepard, Keith David, Mumu Fresh, Azar Lawrence, and Wycliffe Gordon who reflect the life of Reverend King and offer words of inspiration for the future.

Since 1973, Sweet Honey has empowered and inspired with songs about a range of social issues, blending potent themes with gorgeous artistry to stir the mind and the soul. Throughout their sterling career, the ensemble has raised their voices to defend civil rights, social justice, equality, and freedom for all.

The three-time Grammy® Award-nominated and internationally renowned group currently consists of members Carol Maillard, Louise Robinson, Nitanju Bolade Casel, Aisha Kahlil, Rochelle Rice, Christie Dashielland features Romeir Mendez on upright acoustic bass and electric bass. This performance will include American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter, Barbara Hunt.

This event is made possible by the DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities (CAH). The CAH is an independent agency in the District of Columbia government that evaluates and initiates action on matters relating to the arts and humanities and encourages programs and the development of programs that promote progress in the arts and humanities. CAH is the designated state arts agency for the District of Columbia and is supported primarily through District government funds and in part by the National Endowment for the Arts.

 

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

Festival de Flamenco

An Adventure In Traditional Music and Dance from Granada

Uncork a bottle of sherry, dust off your sense of adventure, and join us for a festival of music and dance set in the foothills of Spain’s Sierra Nevada mountains. The afternoon begins with Variación a Tempo, the newest award-winning work by Sara Jimenez and Pablo Gimenez, broadcast live from Teatro Mira Amescua in Guadix. The exquisitely choreographed piece chronicles the evolution of Spanish music and dance, linking the classical traditions’ influence on the more modern genre, flamenco. 

We then retreat to the olive groves of Almazara de Paulenca for an intimate performance broadcast live from a rustic, family-owned olive mill. Against a backdrop of hand-hewn timbers and terracotta tiles, guitarist Pablo Giménez leads a Granada based ensemble which features dancers Rocío Montoya, of Riverdance acclaim, and Jasiel Nahim. They remind us that nothing, not even a pandemic, can temper the passion of authentic Flamenco.

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

Claudia Acuña

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN RISING FESTIVAL

Latin Grammy Award nominee, Claudia Acuña, presents a two-part musical celebration to mark International Women’s Day. Broadcast live from Northampton’s Academy of Music Theatre, the production features a six-camera shoot to capture the intimacy of her performance and the majesty of this historic opera house. Audience members are invited to join via Zoom so they can “be seen” by the artists on a video wall in the orchestra pit.

Growing up in Chile, Claudia dreamed of performing in the iconic jazz clubs of New York City. She fell in love with this unfamiliar music while listening to international stations on her transistor radio. At age 20, she sold all of her possessions and immigrated to the US with no English and little more than her own ambitions. In a short period of time, she began appearing at jam sessions and gained recognition as one of the most intriguing and original vocalists on the scene. “She sings in the tradition of the great ones.” remarked Abbey Lincoln, “ Her sound is her own.”

Claudia will be joined by Pablo Vergara on piano, Carlos Henderson on bass, Juancho Herrera on guitar, and Rodrigo Recabarren on drums.

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

Grand Opera Divas

Daughters of the Spanish Opera

Spend the day with two of Spain’s most revered singers, both divas in their own right and daughters of some of the greatest stars in the history of Grand Opera. The day begins with an Opera Gala featuring Montserrat Martí Caballé, daughter of soprano Montserrat Caballé and tenor Bernabé Martí, who takes us on a journey through the world of Opera and Spanish Zarzuela with a selection of some of the classical genre’s most fascinating solos and duets.

The evening turns to Bacchus in Love with an inebriating mix of good wines and music; duets and songs that speak to us of passion and joy, friendships and glamour, exaltation and inspiration. Together soprano Cecilia Lavilla Berganza, daughter of the grand opera diva Teresa Berganza, baritone Luis Santana and pianist Victor Carbajo exalt the goodness of “miracle juices” by interpreting an extensive repertoire of different composers and celebrating this exciting and passionate pairing.

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS
CANCELLED

Magos Herrera

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN RISING FESTIVAL

UPDATE: The Magos Herrera shows on April 2nd have been moved to Saturday, April 17th. We made this change to enable Magos to perform as part of the United Nations Generation Equality Forum, a landmark event that sets priorities for women’s rights around the globe.

Born in Mexico City and currently based out of New York, Magos is best known for her eloquent vocal improvisation and her singular bold style, which embraces elements of contemporary jazz with Ibero-American melodies and rhythms singing in Spanish, English, and Portuguese. Regarded as one of the most active vocalists in the Latin American jazz scene, she is also a United Nations spokesperson for UN Women UNITE, a program promoting the elimination of violence against women, and the UN’s “He For She” campaigns to promote gender equality. An all-star ensemble will join Magos featuring Luis Perdomo on piano, Sam Minaie on bass, and Alex Kautz on drums.

Join us in celebrating the vital contributions of women in the arts as part of the 2021 International Women Rising Series. Be the first to hear highlights from the Generation Equality Forum in Mexico City, where Magos performed on behalf of UN Women and the Mexican and French governments. Broadcast live from the historic Academy of Music Theatre; this event weaves together a tapestry of musical performances and conversations with distinguished artists and leaders in gender equality.

 

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

New Immigrant Experience

Felipe Salles Interconnections Ensemble

Blues to Green (Springfield, MA) and Next Stage Arts (Putney, VT) are proud to present The New Immigrant Experience, the remarkable eighth release by renowned composer Felipe Salles, is a powerful multimedia work inspired by the lives of “Dreamers,” the almost seven hundred thousand individuals currently protected by DACA. The performance will be preceded by an investigative panel discussion to ground us in the work’s sociopolitical context.

Written by Salles –who emigrated from Brazil to the United States in 1995 – and developed with the aid of a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship, the work uses speech cadences and melodic motifs based on key words as its main source of musical material. The compelling and personal stories it tells were collected through interviews Salles conducted with a group of nine Dreamers during the summer of 2018. 

It’s an emotional musical journey through beautiful orchestral textures, carefully developed motifs, and intense solo features, that combine the power of a big band recording and the dramatic landscape of a soundtrack.

This program is funded in part by the New England States Touring program of the New England Foundation for the Arts, made possible with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts Regional Touring Program and the six New England state arts agencies. Additional support for this performance provided by the Mass Cultural Council.

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

It's Not Too Late

An oratorio on the subject of climate change

It’s Not Too Late is an interactive, multimedia experience that delivers a potent blend of science, activism, and art – a microcosm of the coalition converging to change course at this dramatic moment in planetary history.  This event includes a screening of Geoffrey Hudson’s A Passion for the Planet, a stunning eco-oratorio with director’s-cut style annotations by Hudson and climate scientist Michael E. Mann, preceded by a panel discussion with leaders in climate activism including Rev. Margaret Bullitt-Jonas and Mann.

A Passion for the Planet

Geoffrey Hudson’s choral-orchestral work, A Passion for the Planet, is an hour-long oratorio on the subject of planetary crisis. Blending scientific prose, poetry, and sacred texts from many faiths, the libretto traces an arc from beauty and gratitude into darkness and out again into hope.

A Passion for the Planet is scored for a chorus of mixed voices, children’s chorus, soprano and baritone soloists, and instrumental ensemble. There are eleven movements; in the finale, performers and audience members join together to sing a simple chorale tune.

Follow our hashtag campaign on Instagram and Twitter #WhatGivesMeHope to join the conversation.

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS

MISTER G's Earth Day

A FREE CONCERT FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES

MISTER G – the Latin GRAMMY Award-winning artist, author, activist and educator – presents an exciting bilingual Earth Day concert for children and families with an emphasis on ecoliteracy. Broadcast live from the Academy of Music Theatre, the performance will be filled with music, culture, special guests from all over the world, and of course a foot-stomping handclapping good time.

Hailed as “a bilingual rock star” by the Washington Post, Ben Gundersheimer was originally dubbed MISTER G by his young students while pursuing a Master of Education degree. His dynamic, interactive performances aim to dissolve borders and foster cross-cultural connections. His most recent album, Children of the World, unites musicians across five continents and fourteen countries (including Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Romania, Iran, Liberia, Senegal, Vietnam, Guatemala, Bangladesh, Mexico, France, Jamaica and the US).

LEARN MORE & FIND TICKETS
crosschevron-down
en_USEN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram