Le Festival de Jerez est le premier festival de flamenco et de danse espagnole au monde. En 2021, il fêtera sa 25e édition, ce qui en fait l'un des plus anciens festivals de ce type. Chaque année, des milliers d'étudiants en danse flamenco descendent à Jerez de la Frontera, en Espagne, pour assister aux masterclasses du festival enseignées par les maîtres les plus recherchés du flamenco.

En mai prochain, la société américaine de streaming Third Row Live s'associe au Festival de Jerez pour diffuser une sélection de la programmation de sa 25e édition auprès d'un public mondial. Le Festival de Jerez et la société mère de Third Row, Laudable, ont tous deux restructuré leurs opérations en 2020-21 afin de faire face à la pandémie de COVID-19 et de continuer à soutenir les artistes et l'industrie du spectacle vivant.

Si les étudiants et les amateurs de flamenco et de danse espagnole ne peuvent pas se rendre au théâtre historique Villamarta, Third Row fera découvrir les spectacles du Villamarta à un public mondial grâce à une série de retransmissions en direct du festival. En raison de la pandémie, de nombreux spectacles sélectionnés pour être diffusés en continu ne pourront probablement pas faire l'objet d'une tournée aussi importante qu'ils le mériteraient, mais cette collaboration entre le Festival de Jerez et Third Row offre une occasion unique de voir certains des meilleurs artistes espagnols et les plus appréciés, ainsi que leurs nouveaux chefs-d'œuvre, dans le confort et la sécurité de leur foyer, où qu'il se trouve sur Terre.
Les ShowTimes sont affichés dans votre fuseau horaire local :

Laissez-passer pour le festival

Rejoignez-nous pour assister aux cinq magnifiques spectacles présentés en direct sur la scène du Festival de Jerez, puis regardez-les à la demande pendant deux semaines après leur diffusion.
OBTENIR LE PASSEPORT
bonjour le monde !
Profitez des cinq événements en direct et de l'accès à la demande pendant deux semaines.

$100.00 USD $75.00 USDAjouter au panier

18 H 30 ET
Dimanche
09
Mai

De lo flamenco" et "Réquiem", dont la première a eu lieu le 12 novembre 1994 au théâtre Maestranza de Séville, ont marqué un avant et un après dans le développement de la danse espagnole et du flamenco en Andalousie. Cette première historique a été la première étape de la fondation de la Compañía Andaluza de Danza, aujourd'hui connue sous le nom de Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía.

Pour célébrer le 25e anniversaire du Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía, un spectacle spécial a été préparé, sélectionnant, sous la direction artistique d'Úrsula López, plusieurs des chorégraphies et créations les plus représentatives qui ont défini l'histoire de la compagnie.

Le programme est composé de pièces créées par plusieurs générations du Ballet. Les chorégraphies de Mario Maya, Javier Latorre, José Antonio Ruiz, Cristina Hoyos, Rubén Olmo, Álvaro Paños et Úrsula López donnent vie à un spectacle commémoratif qui, grâce à sa vision globale, entraîne le public dans un voyage captivant à travers l'histoire de la compagnie.

Les différents directeurs qui ont apporté leur talent au Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía font partie de l'histoire de la danse en Espagne. Avec de nombreux autres artistes et chorégraphes, ils ont, au cours de ces 25 années, fait de la compagnie une véritable référence flamenca. Nous vous invitons à faire ce voyage avec nous pour découvrir les 25 ans de créativité que ce spectacle commémoratif célèbre.

Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía

Le Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía est l'un des principaux représentants institutionnels du flamenco, dont il est l'ambassadeur depuis sa création en 1994. Depuis, le Ballet s'est produit sur les scènes du monde entier et lors d'événements internationaux aussi importants que l'Exposition d'Aichi au Japon ou les grands festivals de flamenco de New York et de Londres.

Tout au long de son histoire, le Ballet a reçu non seulement la reconnaissance du public et de la critique, mais aussi celle des spécialistes des arts du spectacle. Ainsi, il a reçu le prix national de la chorégraphie décerné par "El perro andaluz", dirigé par María Pagés, et plusieurs chorégraphies de Cristina Hoyos, créées sous sa direction, ont été nominées pour les prix Max du théâtre. Parmi celles-ci, citons "Yerma", pour laquelle Hoyos a reçu le prix Max de la meilleure danseuse, et "Romancero gitano", qui a été le spectacle le plus regardé en 2006. "Imágenes : 20 años del Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía" a reçu le prix Giraldillo du meilleur spectacle de la XVIIIe Biennale du flamenco de Séville, et "Tierra-Lorca, cancionero popular" a reçu le Giraldillo de la XIXe édition pour le travail du corps de ballet de la compagnie.

La compagnie a été une source inépuisable de talents, qui a produit des danseurs aussi importants qu'Israel Galván, Isabel Bayón, Juan José Jaén "El Junco", Patricia Guerrero et Rafaela Carrasco, entre autres.

Tout cela a fait du Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía la compagnie de référence du flamenco, triomphant auprès du public national et international, favorisant un intérêt croissant pour le flamenco dans le monde entier.

18 H 30 ET
Jeudi
13
Mai

Le début, l'arrivée, le voyage... la transformation pour être à nouveau possible. S'autoriser à créer un chemin d'états et d'émotions transitoires auxquels il faut inévitablement dire adieu. Oser sauter et rêver d'être les sauveurs du bleu, les pêcheurs du noir et, si nous le pouvons encore, sauver aussi l'argent pour donner un sens à ce qui est à venir.

DIRE ADIEU À CE QUE NOUS NE SOMMES PLUS, C'EST LA CAPACITÉ D'EXISTER À NOUVEAU.

Ya no seremos We Will No Longer Be] est une œuvre d'Ángel Rojas née de la nécessité d'approfondir le concept de création dans un style flamenco contemporain clair qui dépasse les barrières et les stéréotypes.

Une création qui a mûri au fil des ans et dont le thème principal est l'évolution comme impératif de notre destin. Ce que nous ne devons plus être afin de nous transformer en quelque chose de nouveau et d'inconnu.

Pour ce projet, Rojas a réuni une grande équipe créative sous sa direction artistique, ainsi qu'un ensemble polyvalent, capable de naviguer dans un paysage abstrait sans sacrifier la profondeur du flamenco, le tout couronné par une mise en scène définie par la symbologie du thème central.

À propos de Ángel Rojas

Danseuse et chorégraphe de flamenco. Madrid, 1974. Il fait ses débuts professionnels à 16 ans, en tournée avec le Ballet Teatro Español de Luisillo et le Ballet Teatro Español de Rafael Aguilar, puis rejoint le Ballet Español de Madrid sous la direction de José Granero. En 1992, il rejoint le Ballet Flamenco Antonio Canales, participant au spectacle A ti, Carmen Amaya. Entre 1992 et 1994, il participe à de nombreux galas prestigieux, en tant que danseur invité de la compagnie Víctor Ullate et en travaillant sur des chorégraphies pour la Compañía Teatro de la Danza et la Compañía de José Antonio y los Ballets Españoles, se produisant également en tant que soliste dans cette dernière.

En 1995, Rojas cofonde avec Carlos Rodríguez le Nuevo Ballet Español, qui sera rebaptisé Rojas & Rodríguez en 2008. Parmi les productions les plus remarquables de la compagnie figurent : Infierno, S.L. (1995), Canela y Fuego (1996), Sangre Flamenca (1997), Flamenco Directo (1998), Gallo de Pelea (1999), Furia (2000), Romeo y Julieta (2003), Tierra (2004), En Carne Viva (2005), Alma (2006), Sangre (2008), Baile de Máscaras (2008), commandée par la Communauté autonome de Madrid pour le bicentenaire de la guerre d'indépendance espagnole, Cambio de Tercio (2009), Homenaje a los Clásicos (hommage aux classiques) (2012), Amor Brujo (2012) et Titane (2013), qui fusionne le flamenco et la danse urbaine.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Ángel Rojas a reçu de nombreux prix. Parmi les plus remarquables, citons le premier prix du meilleur danseur au Concours national de chorégraphie, partagé avec Carlos Rodríguez (1994), le prix UP Dance décerné au Nuevo Ballet Español pour la meilleure compagnie de danse et de flamenco espagnole (2000), le prix Villa de Madrid Pilar López du meilleur danseur (2005) et la médaille des arts de la Communauté autonome de Madrid avec Carlos Rodríguez (2006).

Ángel Rojas a donné des cours et des ateliers dans de nombreuses écoles du monde entier. Depuis 2010, il codirige l'Escuela de Danza Rojas y Rodríguez Ciudad de Móstoles avec Carlos Rodríguez et travaille comme consultant sur des projets tels que Flamenco del Sol à Orlando, où il aide à la formation des étudiants et à la planification de l'enseignement.

En tant que chorégraphe invité, il est important de mentionner que Dualiacréé pour le Ballet national d'Espagne en 2007 ; Don Juanune comédie musicale canadienne créée en 2004 et remise en scène en 2012 ; Pálpitopour la Fondation Ángel Corella, dont la première a eu lieu à New York en 2012 ; et Falla fuera de la cajacréé pour l'Ensemble Español de Chicago en 2016.

En 2015, il est sollicité par la ville de Madrid pour diriger le Festival Flamenco Madrid. Il est nommé directeur artistique jusqu'en 2018. En 2018, Ángel Rojas devient le directeur artistique du nouveau théâtre Flamenco Madrid.

18 H 30 ET
Samedi
15
Mai

Avec Debajo de los pies Sous vos pieds], Eduardo Guerrero vous invite à participer à son univers. Toutes les préoccupations fondamentales que nous contemplons composent l'imaginaire de ce projet. D'un point de vue personnel, il tente de construire un récit universel en dialogue constant avec son équipe. 

Sur Debajo de los piesIl existe un monde dans lequel la tradition et l'innovation vont de pair. Sur la scène, il y a un paysage subtil, rempli d'innombrables nuances qui relient ce qui est proche à ce qui est le plus éloigné. Le public est invité à poser son regard sur une vaste échelle de formes, de volumes, de corps chargés de pressentiment. 

Il s'agit sans aucun doute d'une pièce qui marque une nouvelle étape dans la carrière d'Eduardo Guerrero.

Eduardo Guerrero

Eduardo Guerrero González (1983, Cádiz) a commencé à danser à l'âge de six ans. C'est à Cadix qu'il pose les bases de sa danse et qu'il poursuit ensuite sa formation avec des professeurs tels que Mario Maya, Antonio Canales, Manolo Marín et Chiqui de Jerez.  Il étudie la danse espagnole au conservatoire de danse de Cadix et poursuit ses études en danse contemporaine avec David Greenall et en danse classique avec Montserrat Marín.

En 2002, il commence à travailler avec d'importantes compagnies nationales comme celles d'Aida Gómez, Eva La Yerbabuena et Rocío Molina. C'est en 2011 que Guerrero remporte le premier prix du concours de chorégraphie des conservatoires professionnels et commence sa carrière solo. Depuis lors, il a créé les productions suivantes : Suite Flamenca (2011); De Dolores (2012); Las Minas (2013); Re-torno (2014); Le Callejón de los Pecados (2014); Desplante (2015); Une pièce solo pour un danseur de flamenco (2016); Guerrero (2017); Faro (2017) ; et Sombra Efímera (2018).

Parmi les nombreux prix qui entérinent sa fructueuse carrière, il est important de mentionner le Premier Prix de Danse du prestigieux Festival de Las Minas de la Unión en 2013, qui consacre son succès en tant que danseur et chorégraphe de flamenco. En 2017, son spectacle Guerrero remporte le prix du public au Festival de Jerez. 

Actuellement, Eduardo combine les tournées avec la création d'une nouvelle production avec le directeur artistique Mateo Feijoo (actuel directeur du Matadero de Madrid). Il s'agit d'un long processus de recherche artistique qui a abouti à une trilogie de spectacles qui commence par Une pièce solo pour un danseur de flamenco2016 à Amsterdam, puis Sombra Efímeraqui sera présenté en première à la Biennale de Flamenco de Séville en 2018 et qui se terminera par la présentation de la troisième œuvre, la plus ambitieuse. Debajo de los Pies.

Obtenir un accès étendu

4:30 PM ET
Dimanche
16
Mai

Fernando Jiménez présente la première mondiale de son deuxième spectacle solo. Transiciones Transitions] accompagné de quelques-uns des meilleurs musiciens de Jerez et de deux titans du flamenco : la danseuse Pastora Galván et le chanteur et guitariste José Gálvez.

Jiménez s'abreuve à la fontaine de la tradition, exécutant la danse flamenca naturelle et authentique qui vit dans les patios du quartier historique de Santiago à Jerez. Dans sa dernière œuvre, Transiciones [Transitions], Jimenez a exploré la mIl s'agit d'une réflexion sur la façon dont chaque étape de la vie signifie un changement. C'est là que l'on trouve la croissance, tant personnelle que professionnelle. Dans les moments les plus difficiles de la vie, on apprend à partir d'un lieu de résilience. 

Fernando Jiménez

Fernando Jiménez est un danseur de flamenco de Jerez de la Frontera, né en 1988 dans une famille gitane du quartier historique de Santiago. Il est un descendant direct de Tía Anica la Piriñaca et de José Vargas "El Mono". Il commence à danser le flamenco naturellement et spontanément lors de fêtes familiales.

Fernando réalise rapidement qu'il veut se consacrer professionnellement à la danse flamenco et rejoint l'ensemble artistique du tablao La Taberna Flamenca, où il se produit jusqu'à sa fermeture soudaine. Son style particulièrement masculin, qui met l'accent sur le jeu de jambes et le mouvement des mains, l'amène à se produire dans toute l'Espagne et fait de lui un habitué du Japon grâce à la popularité de ses cours et de ses spectacles. Il participe à une tournée aux États-Unis avec Pedro Garrido "Niño de la Fragua" et Ismael Heredia. Et il danse de nombreuses fois au théâtre historique Villamarta de Jerez depuis ses débuts en 2002 en tant que membre de la distribution de "Enamorarse en Jerez". Il se produit également dans le monde entier avec des artistes tels que Pansequito, Aurora Vargas, Rancapino Chico, La Macanita et Tía Juana la del Pipa. 

En 2019, il présente son premier solo au Festival de Jerez, partageant la soirée avec une autre danseuse de Jerez, Yessica Brea. En 2020, il participe au cycle "de Peña en Peña" du Festival de Jerez, pour lequel il reçoit le prix Breakout Artist et est invité à présenter son deuxième solo. Transiciones lors de l'édition 2021 du festival.

Obtenir un accès étendu

18 H 30 ET
Lundi
17
Mai

"Frente al Silencio" [Devant le silence] est une tentative de briser le silence complice qui sous-tend la barbarie que les êtres humains sont capables de s'infliger les uns aux autres. Félix Grande a su briser ce silence avec son poème "La Cabellera de la Shoá" [Les cheveux de Shoah]. Cette œuvre met à nu l'horreur d'Auschwitz - le langage fragmenté du poète révélant sa vérité.

L'élimination, la déshumanisation, le mépris et la terreur - mais aussi la réflexion, la condamnation et la recherche d'un langage capable de raconter la tourmente - tous ces éléments sont une tentative d'être un écho de plus au poème de Grande.

Fuensanta La Moneta

Danseur et chorégraphe. Grenade 1984. Elle a commencé sa formation de danseuse dès son enfance dans les écoles de Carmen Mari et Mariquilla à Grenade. Elle a fait ses débuts professionnels à Madrid avec le le guitariste Juan Marote, ce qui a donné naissance au magazine Alma 100 a publié un article de fond la désignant comme la plus importante danseuse de flamenco née dans les années 1980.

En 2003, elle a remporté le prix "El Desplante" au concours national La Unión. Depuis lors, Fuensanta la Moneta a dansé dans les plus prestigieux festivals et théâtres de flamenco en Europe, en Asie et en Amérique.

Tout en dansant dans la compagnie de Javier Latorre, elle participe aux spectacles "Triana, en el nombre de la Rosa" et "Rinconete y Cortadillo", et elle joue dans le film d'Álvaro Begines "Por qué se frotan las patitas".

Obtenir un accès étendu

bonjour le monde !
crosschevron-down
fr_FRFR
0
    0
    Votre panier
    Votre panier est videRetour à la boutique
    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

The Festival de Jerez is the foremost Flamenco and Spanish Dance Festival in the world. In 2021, it celebrates its 25th edition, making it one of the longest-running festivals of its kind. Every year, thousands of flamenco dance students descend on Jerez de la Frontera, Spain, to attend festival masterclasses taught by the most sought-after masters of flamenco.

This May, the US-based streaming company Third Row Live partners with the Festival de Jerez to broadcast a selection of its 25th edition’s lineup for a global audience. Both the Festival de Jerez and Third Row’s parent company, Laudable, have restructured their operations in 2020-21 in order to cope with the COVID-19 pandemic and to continue to support artists and the performing arts industry.

If flamenco and Spanish dance students and fans can’t come to the historic Villamarta Theatre, Third Row will bring the performances at the Villamarta to a global audience through a collection of festival live streams. Because of the pandemic, many of the performances that have been selected for streaming likely will not be able to tour as widely as they deserve, but this collaboration between the Festival de Jerez and Third Row presents a once in a lifetime opportunity to see some of Spain’s finest and most lauded performers and their newest masterworks from the comfort and safety of home, no matter where on Earth that home is located.
ShowTimes are displayed in your local time zone:

Festival Pass

Join us for all five magnificent performances as they are debuted live onstage at the Festival de Jerez, and then watch them on-demand for two-weeks after the broadcast.
GET THE PASS
hello world!
Enjoy all five live events plus on-demand access for two weeks.

$100.00 USD $75.00 USDAdd to cart

6:30 PM ET
Sunday
09
May

“De lo flamenco” and ‘Réquiem,’ which premiered November 12, 1994 at the Maestranza Theatre in Seville, marked a before and after in the development of Spanish dance and flamenco in Andalucía. That historic premiere was the first step in founding the Compañía Andaluza de Danza, now known as the Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía, a special show has been prepared, selecting, under the artistic direction of Úrsula López, several of the most representative choreographies and creations that have defined the company’s history.

The program is comprised of pieces created by several Ballet generations. Choreographies by Mario Maya, Javier Latorre, José Antonio Ruiz, Cristina Hoyos, Rubén Olmo, Álvaro Paños and Úrsula López give life to a commemorative show that, thanks to its holistic vision, takes the audience on an engrossing journey through the company’s history.

The different directors who have contributed their talent to the Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía are part of Spain’s dance history. They, along with many other artists and choreographers, have, in these 25 years, made the company a true flamenco reference.  We invite you to take this journey with us to explore the 25 years of creativity that this commemorative show celebrates.

Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía

The Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía is one the foremost institutional representatives of flamenco, acting as the art form’s ambassador since the company’s founding in 1994. The Ballet has since performed on stages across the globe and at such important international events as the Aichi Exposition in Japan or the large-scale flamenco festivals in New York and London.

Throughout the Ballet’s history, it has received not only public and critical acclaim but also that of performing arts specialists. As such, it has been the recipient of the National Prize for Choreography awarded by ‘El perro andaluz,’ led by María Pagés, and several of choreographies by Cristina Hoyos, created during her directorship, have been nominated for Max Theatre Prizes. Among them is “Yerma,” for which Hoyos received the Max Prize for Best Female Dancer, and “Romancero gitano,” which was the most viewed show of 2006. “Imágenes: 20 años del Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía” was awarded the Giraldillo Prize for Best Show at the XVIII Seville Flamenco Biennial, and “Tierra-Lorca, cancionero popular” received the XIX edition’s Giraldillo for the work of the company’s corps de ballet.

The company has been an inexhaustible source of talent, that has produced such important dancers as Israel Galván, Isabel Bayón, Juan José Jaén ‘El Junco,’ Patricia Guerrero and Rafaela Carrasco, among others.

All of this has made the Ballet Flamenco de Andalucía the company of reference for flamenco, triumphing with national and international audiences, fomenting a growing interest in flamenco across the world.

6:30 PM ET
Thursday
13
May

The beginning, the arrival, the journey… transformation so as to once again be possible. Allowing oneself to create a path of transiting states and emotions to which one must inevitably say goodbye. Dare to jump and dream of being the saviors of the blue, the fishermen of the black and, if we still can, also save the silver to make sense of what is to come.

TO SAY GOODBYE TO WHAT WE NO LONGER ARE IS THE ABILITY TO EXIST AGAIN.

Ya no seremos [We Will No Longer Be] is a work by Ángel Rojas born out of the necessity to delve into the concept of creation in a clear contemporary flamenco style that supersedes barriers and stereotypes.

A creation that has matured over years and with a principal theme of evolution as imperative to our destiny. What we must no longer be in order to transform ourselves into something new and unknown.

For this project, Rojas has brought together a large creative team under his artistic direction, as well as a versatile ensemble, capable of navigating an abstract landscape without sacrificing the depth of flamenco, capped off with a staging defined by the symbology of the central theme.

About Ángel Rojas

Flamenco dancer and choreographer. Madrid, 1974. Makes his professional debut at 16-years-old, touring with the Ballet Teatro Español de Luisillo and Rafael Aguilar’s Ballet Teatro Español, later joining the Ballet Español de Madrid under the direction of José Granero.  In 1992, he joins the Ballet Flamenco Antonio Canales, participating in the show A ti, Carmen Amaya.  Between 1992 and 1994, he participates in numerous prestigious galas, as guest dancer in the Víctor Ullate Company and working on choreographies for the Compañía Teatro de la Danza and the Compañía de José Antonio y los Ballets Españoles, also performing as a soloist in the latter.

In 1995, Rojas co-founds the Nuevo Ballet Español with Carlos Rodríguez, which would be renamed Rojas & Rodríguez in 2008. Among the company’s most noteworthy productions are: Infierno, S.L. (1995), Canela y Fuego (1996), Sangre Flamenca (1997), Flamenco Directo (1998), Gallo de Pelea (1999), Furia (2000), Romeo y Julieta (2003), Tierra (2004), En Carne Viva (2005), Alma (2006), Sangre (2008), Baile de Máscaras (2008), commissioned by the Autonomous Community of Madrid for the Bicentennial of the Spanish War of Independence, Cambio de Tercio (2009), Homenaje a los Clásicos (2012), Amor Brujo (2012) and Titanium (2013), which fused flamenco and urban dance.

Throughout his career, Ángel Rojas has received numerous awards.  The most noteworthy include First Prize for Best Dancer at the National Choreography Competition, shared with Carlos Rodríguez (1994), the UP Dance Prize awarded to the Nuevo Ballet Español for Best Spanish Dance & Flamenco Company (2000), the Villa de Madrid Pilar López Prize for Best Dancer (2005) and the Medal of Arts from the Autonomous Community of Madrid with Carlos Rodríguez (2006).

Ángel Rojas has taught courses and workshops at numerous schools around the world. Since 2010, he has co-directed the Escuela de Danza Rojas y Rodríguez Ciudad de Móstoles with Carlos Rodríguez and worked as consultant on projects such as Flamenco del Sol in Orlando, where he assists with student training and educational planning.

As a guest choreographer it’s important to mention Dualia, created for the National Ballet of Spain in 2007; Don Juan, a Canadian musical created in 2004 and staged again in 2012; Pálpito, for the Ángel Corella Foundation, which premiered in New York in 2012; and Falla fuera de la caja, created for Chicago’s Ensemble Español in 2016.

In 2015, he is asked by the City of Madrid to direct the Festival Flamenco Madrid.  He is named Artistic Director through 2018.  In 2018, Ángel Rojas becomes the Artistic Director of the new Flamenco Madrid Theatre.

6:30 PM ET
Saturday
15
May

With Debajo de los pies [Under Your Feet], Eduardo Guerrero invites you to participate in his universe.  All of the fundamental preoccupations that we contemplate comprise the imagination of this project.  From a personal point of view, he attempts to construct a universal narrative in constant dialog with his team. 

In Debajo de los pies, a world exists in which tradition and innovation go hand in hand. On the stage, there’s a subtle landscape filled with innumerable nuances that connect that which is nearby to that which is farthest away. The audience is invited to rest its eyes on a vast scale of shapes, volumes, bodies full of foreboding. 

Without a doubt, this is a piece that marks a new phase in Eduardo Guerrero’s career.

Eduardo Guerrero

Eduardo Guerrero González (1983, Cádiz) began dancing at just six-years-old.   It is in Cádiz that he lays the foundations of his dance and later continues his training further afoot with teachers that include Mario Maya, Antonio Canales, Manolo Marín and Chiqui de Jerez.  He studies Spanish dance at the Cádiz Conservatory of Dance and continues his studies in contemporary dance with David Greenall and classical dance with Montserrat Marín.

In 2002, he begins working with such important national companies as those of Aida Gómez, Eva La Yerbabuena and Rocío Molina. It’s in 2011 when Guerrero wins First Prize at the Professional Conservatories’ Choreography Competition and begins his solo career.  Since then, he has created the following productions: Suite Flamenca (2011); De Dolores (2012); Las Minas (2013); Re-torno (2014); El Callejón de los Pecados (2014); Desplante (2015); A Solo Piece for a Flamenco Dancer (2016); Guerrero (2017); Faro (2017); and Sombra Efímera (2018).

Among the many awards that endorse his fruitful career, it is important to mention First Prize for Dance at the prestigious Festival de Las Minas de la Unión in 2013, which consecrates his success as a flamenco dancer and choreographer. In 2017, his show Guerrero wins the Audience Prize at the Festival de Jerez. 

Currently, Eduardo combines touring with the creation of new production with artistic director Mateo Feijoo (current director of the Matadero de Madrid). It involves a long process of artistic research that has resulted in a trilogy of performances that begin with A Solo Piece for a Flamenco Dancer, 2016 in Amsterdam, then Sombra Efímera, which premieres at the Seville Flamenco Biennial in 2018 and which will conclude with the presentation of the third and most ambitious work Debajo de los Pies.

Get Extended Access

4:30 PM ET
Sunday
16
May

Fernando Jiménez presents the world premiere of his second solo show Transiciones [Transitions] accompanied by some of Jerez’s finest musicians and two flamenco titans: dancer Pastora Galván and singer and guitarist José Gálvez.

Jiménez drinks from the fountain of tradition, performing the natural and authentic flamenco dance that lives in the patios of the historic neighborhood of Santiago in Jerez. In his latest work, Transiciones [Transitions], Jimenez explored the movement that defines flamenco, reflecting on how each stage of life signifies a change. This is where one finds growth, both personal and professional. During life’s most difficult moments, one learns from a place of resilience. 

Fernando Jiménez

Fernando Jiménez is a flamenco dancer from Jerez de la Frontera, born in 1988 to a gypsy family from the historic neighborhood of Santiago. He is a direct descendent of Tía Anica la Piriñaca and José Vargas “El Mono.”  He begins dancing flamenco naturally and spontaneously at family parties.

Fernando soon realizes that he wants to dedicate himself professionally to flamenco dance and joins the artistic ensemble at the tablao La Taberna Flamenca, where he performs until its sudden closure. His particularly masculine style with a focus on footwork and hand movement takes him across Spain to perform and makes him a regular in Japan thanks to the popularity of his classes and performances.  He performs on a tour of the United States with Pedro Garrido “Niño de la Fragua” and Ismael Heredia. And he dances numerous times at Jerez’s historic Villamarta Theatre since his debut there in 2002 as a member of the ensemble cast of “Enamorarse en Jerez.”  He also performs around the world with artists such as Pansequito, Aurora Vargas, Rancapino Chico, La Macanita and Tía Juana la del Pipa. 

In 2019, he performs his first solo work at the Festival de Jerez, sharing the evening with another dancer from Jerez, Yessica Brea. In 2020, he participates in the ‘de Peña en Peña’ series of the Festival de Jerez, for which he is awarded the Breakout Artist Prize and asked to premiere his second solo work Transiciones at the 2021 edition of the festival.

Get Extended Access

6:30 PM ET
Monday
17
May

“Frente al Silencio” [In Front of Silence] is an attempt to break the complicit silence that underpins the barbarity human beings are capable of inflicting on one another.  Félix Grande was able to break this silence with his poem “La Cabellera de la Shoá” [Shoah’s Hair].  This work lays bare the horror of Auschwitz – the poet’s fragmented language revealing his truth.

Elimination, dehumanization, contempt, and terror – but also reflection, condemnation, and the search for a language capable of narrating the turmoil – all of these elements are an attempt to be one yet more echo of Grande’s poem.

Fuensanta La Moneta

Dancer and choreographer. Granada 1984. She began her dance training as a child at the schools of Carmen Mari and Mariquilla in Granada.  She made her professional debut in Madrid with the guitarist Juan Marote, resulting in the magazine Alma 100 publishing an extensive cover story dubbing her the most important flamenco dancer born in the 1980’s.

In 2003, she won the “El Desplante” Prize at the National Competition La Unión. From then on Fuensanta la Moneta has danced in the most prestigious flamenco festivals and theatres in Europe, Asia and America.

While dancing in Javier Latorre’s company, she participated in the performances “Triana, en el nombre de la Rosa” and “Rinconete y Cortadillo,” and she performed in the film by Álvaro Begines “Por qué se frotan las patitas.”

Get Extended Access

hello world!
crosschevron-down
en_USEN
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram